It Started with a Tweet by Anna Bell | Author Q&A

December 1, 2017 Tours and Events 0

Hey all! I’m so happy to welcome the fabulous Anna Bell onto the blog today to celebrate the release of her fab new book IT STARTED WITH A TWEET with a wonderful Q&A! Scroll down to get to know her a little bit better and for some lovely info on the book! Enjoy x

Goodreads | December 7th 2017 | Amazon UK | Amazon US

Can Daisy Hobson log offfor love…?

Could you survive a digital detox? This hilarious new romantic comedy from the author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella.

Daisy Hobson lives her whole life online. A marketing manager by day, she tweets her friends, instagrams every meal and arranges (frankly, appalling) dates on Tinder. But when her social media obsession causes her to make a catastrophic mistake at work, Daisy finds her life going into free-fall . . .

Her sister Rosie thinks she has the answer to all of Daisy’s problems – a digital detox in a remote cottage in Cumbria, that she just happens to need help doing up. Soon, too, Daisy finds herself with two welcome distractions: sexy French exchange-help Alexis, and Jack, the brusque and rugged man-next-door, who keeps accidentally rescuing her.

But can Daisy, a London girl, ever really settle into life in a tiny, isolated village? And, more importantly, can she survive without her phone?

 

Hi Anna, thanks so much for joining us on WHAT DANIELLE DID NEXT!

Thanks for having me Danielle, I’m so pleased to be here!

First off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I write heartwarming, romantic comedies and I live in South West France with my husband, two kids, a dog and five chickens. Before I became a full-time writer I lived in Portsmouth and was a military museum curator.

It started with a Tweet is such a fun book, can you tell us what the inspiration behind it was?

I really wanted my characters to fall in love through writing letters to each other – there’s something so heartfelt and romantic about actual letters. It starting thinking how I could get my main character away from technology so that her and Jack would have a reason for picking up a pen and paper rather than sending a text and that’s when I came up with the idea of sending her on a digital detox.

What comes first for you? Plot or character or a bit of both?

The planning process for every book I write is different. Sometimes I see a character but I don’t have much idea for a story and other times it’s the plot that comes first. But by the end of the first couple of drafts neither the plot or the main character resembles my original ideas. They both evolve into something completely different as I write and edit them.

Do you rely on the support of other writers or are you a more solitary soul?

One of the things I miss most about living in the UK is meeting up with other authors. I’m a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and I used to go to their meetings and events which were always lots of fun. I do belong to a couple of author groups where we chat online and I talk to quite other authors on Twitter, but nothing is nicer than meeting up over a drink or two in person.

Can you tell us a bit about your writing process? Any quirks or superstitions?

I like to write really quick first drafts that are terrible and messy but it’s the way I organise my ideas. I also am a bit of a creature of habit with my writing too. Although I could write anywhere, the most productive writing I do is when I’m at my desk. I’m usually dressed in comfy tracksuit bottoms and a hoodie (with the hood up), with a hot cup of coffee and some form of chocolate treat beside me.

Authors are first and foremost readers. What are your favourite books and what author would you most like to sit down and have a cuppa with?

Although I read thrillers and fantasy, my first love will always be romantic comedies. I’m a real sucker for a girl meets boy and gets a happy ending. I always look forward to reading books by Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella, Lisa Dickenson, Kirsty Greenwood,  Joanna Bolouri and Rosie Blake. I’d love to sit down with anyone of those authors and have a good chin wag. If I had to pick one that I’d not already met, I’d plump for Lindsey Kelk as I’m always enjoy watching her Instagram stories and I think she’d make me laugh a lot.

What are you working on now?

I’m currently writing a book about two people who made a ‘if we’re not married when we’re thirty’ pact and they meet up again later in life and put the pact into action. It’s a real will-they-won’t-they as they get to know each other properly during the twenty eight days they have to wait to get legally married.

Any tips for the aspiring author?

Just write! I meet so many people who tell me they’re going to write a book but when I ask them if they’ve started they say no, making excuses that they don’t have time. I was working full-time when I wrote my first book. I’d get up an hour earlier before work and write or I’d stay up late at night. I turned down invitations to the pub and other events with my friends. If you’re serious about it then make the time. Also read widely – including other genres to the one you’re writing. I love reading biographies to understand what makes different people tick and I love reading thrillers to work out how to add suspense and twists. 

When you’re not writing, what do you like to get up to?

I live in rural France so we have quite a different lifestyle to the one we had back in the UK. Everything’s very laid back and we spend a lot of time just enjoying being outside. I’m not a great baker or cook but I love doing both and enjoy nothing more than having a house or garden full of friends or family where I attempt to feed them my creations. At the moment I’m enjoying the winter evenings and making the most cosying up on the sofa reading books sitting next to the wood burner.

Many thanks for taking part! Danielle x

About the Author

Anna Bell currently writes the weekly column ‘The Secret Dreamworld of An Aspiring Author’ on the website Novelicious  www.novelicious.com) and reviews modern women’s fiction for the website the Chicklit Club  www.chicklitclub.com). She is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s New Writer’s Scheme. Anna is a full-time writer and loves nothing more than going for walks with her husband and Labrador. You can find out more about Anna at her website: www.annabellwrites.com 
Join the Anna Bell Readers’ Club for all the latest news from Anna on her books, events and giveaways: www.bit.ly/AnnaBellClub

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Danielle

Leave a Reply