One Last Summer at Hideaway Bay | Blog Tour

July 22, 2016 Tours and Events 1

Hey everyone! Super excited to be a part of the

ONE LAST SUMMER AT HIDEAWAY BAY

blog tour! I have a fabulous guest post from the author Zoe Cook that will get your mouths watering and aching to holiday on the Cornish coast! Scroll down to read and find out more about this fab book!

9780008194468

| 21st July 2016 | Goodreads |

Secrets lie waiting beneath the Cornish waves in this moving and unforgettable love story. Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kelly Rimmer and Jojo Moyes. Lucy, hi. It’s Tom. How are you? It’s been a while. I’ve been meaning to get in touch but it’s hard to know how to after so much time. I hear you’re doing really well up there. I knew you would be. You should come here, you know, back to Hideaway bay. Come and see everyone, see how little it’s all changed. Feel the sand between your toes, the Cornish sea breeze on your face. When the sun hits the surf in that way it does, it’s as magical as ever. That’s why I’m writing to you, actually. I want to get the gang back together again, one last time before…well…just one last time. You should come too. The four of us, a summer on the beach, like old times. We all want you here for it. I want you here for it. It’s been so long since I saw you. I still think about you. Tom

GUEST POST

Things to eat in Cornwall

Cornwall is home to the foodstuffs of the Gods. Fact. Here’s my quick fire must-eat guide to the county that gave us cream teas and pasties.

download

 

Pasties – the title of ‘best pasty in Cornwall’ is fiercely competitive, and I can’t claim to have eaten enough pasties to be an expert on the subject. For me, it’s hard to beat a Barnecutt’s traditional pasty – especially from their Rock store from where it’s a short walk down to the sea to enjoy a pasty in peace with a view to die for.

Top marks also go to Sarah’s pasty shop in my hometown, Looe. Served from a little hole in the wall in the middle of the town these are what pasties were meant to be – hot, tasty and filling.

Fish,_chips_and_mushy_peas

Fish and chips– for me,it’s impossible to beat Rick Stein’s fish and chips in Padstow. The fish is the fresh, the batter is light and bubbly, the chips are cooked in beef dripping, what’s not to love. Last time I visited we ate the cod bites, which were even more crispy and delicious than a standard portion of battered fish. I’ll admit to being slightly disappointed by the curry sauce which was probably too good for my palate – I missed that traditional fish and chip shop curry sauce taste – but forgiving that these are definitely my favourite fish and chips in the world.

large_takeaway-coffee_a10d3549

Coffee on the go– for great coffee with a view, it’s got to be Cone Zone in Polzeath. Never does a cup of coffee taste better than when you’ve picked it up on route to the beach from your tent at Valley campsite.

 

 

 

 

MG_9423A quick bite to eat at Talland Bay Caféa hidden gem just outside of Looe, Talland beach is off the beaten track, generally pretty quiet, and home to this little café serving great pasties and ice creams, it’s a great little spot.

 

 

 

1517270_37_z

Afternoon tea at the Old Quay House, Fowey- The terrace of the restaurant at the Old Quay house juts out over the water and on a sunny day there aren’t many nicer places to be. My top tip, forget the tea and make it a glass of champagne for a cream tea with real punch.

 

 

 

basic-sconeOr pick up scones on the run from Martin’s Dairy in Looe – the biggest, fluffiest, most delicious scones around.

 

 

 

 

Sam's, Fowey, CornwallDinner at Sam’s, Foweyfresh, local fish served to perfection in chilled, stylish surroundings. Sam’s serves up precisely the kind of food I want to eat in Cornwall.

 

 

 

 

635831580257142722-769371159_icecreamIce cream – it’s a tie for me between TreleavenandRoskilly’swhen it comes to ice cream.  Both are proper Cornish products, made with local milk and just divine. Have both!

 

 

Rattler-cyderA couple of cheeky ciders – Rattler cider is both delicious and highly potent, drinker beware. No trip to Cornwall is complete without a few pints of Rattler, I love the slight sharpness of the apples, and the almost Appletiser like sweetness. It’s making me thirsty just writing about it.

 

 

 

 

 

camel-valley-0486-0025-Copy2-1250x1880Or hit the fizz if you’re feeling flush – Camel Valley sparkling wines are among the greatest being produced right now. A true taste of the finer things Cornwall has to offer, it’s a reminder of how far the county’s food scene has come. You can also visit their vineyard, the largest in Cornwall, and sample a selection of their wines, highly recommended for an afternoon to remember (perhaps a little fuzzily).

 

 

 

 

 

fudgeDon’t forget the fudge – if you’re in Polperro the Cornish Maid’s fudge shop sells a great selection of flavoured fudge (although if you’re a purist like me you’ll only ever eat clotted cream or vanilla fudge, naturally). I like their fudge so much we served it as favours at our wedding. My north coast favourite is Buttermilk, they have shops in Padstow and Port Isaac and their crumbly caramel sea salt fudge is unbeatable.

About the Author

Zoe picI grew up by the sea in Cornwall, spending my summers on the beach. I left to study History at Oxford University, before starting a career in television during which I was lucky enough to travel the world interviewing incredible authors for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Fast forward ten years I’m now married to a lovely man called James and have a daughter who keeps us on our toes. Oh, and a very furry cat called Bobby.

 

 

 

hideaway bay blog tour banner

Danielle

One Response to “One Last Summer at Hideaway Bay | Blog Tour”

  1. Greg

    The book cover caught my eye on Bloglovin but I’m always up for a food post! I love fresh fish so that sounds fantastic but so do the scones and pasties. And I wouldn’t mind trying a Rattler. 🙂

Leave a Reply