Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan

April 30, 2013 Book Reviews 4 ★½

Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees BrennanWhat Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan
Series: The Bane Chronicles #1
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on April 16th 2013
Pages: 133
Format: ebook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

If I had  to sum up WRHIP in one word? That word would be…meh.

tumblr_m3rtic42Vv1qfb46yo1_250

Is that even a word? Someone consult the OED! For this review, it is a word. There’s been some grumblings about the over saturation of Shadowhunters and their kin as we gear up for the TMI movie, say goodbye to TID and prepare for the new series after the new series after the current one finishes…phew. It’s difficult to keep track. Despite that I was super excited to hear that one of my favourite characters was getting his chance to shine! The mystical Magnus Bane, warlock, honey to Alex and all round bad ass. This first offering “What Really Happened in Peru” was a let-down.

tumblr_m4v6s9phln1rwsy4to1_250

To be brutally honest, it read like fanfiction…Now I adore fanfiction, I’ve written it myself but I don’t want to fricking pay for it!!! I didn’t pay for that Twilight shit people read on buses fawning over some 28 year old jaded dominant, (seriously,how many 28 year old BOYS do you know like Christian bloody Grey??). It was very clear where CC was writing and where she was not. Sarah Rees Brennan is a great writer, I love her style but it was a lesson in why only the actual author of the characters and stories should write the stories and publish them and everyone else head over to FF.net or Wattpad. And yeah I totally get the irony of calling CC the “actual author” but there’s plenty of snarky blog posts about her past without me adding to it. I love CC’s world of Shadowhunters and if she had written the Bane Chronicles this would most likely be a glowing review. However the sparkle just was.not.there! Magnus with his flair, glint in the eye, mischievous side with that whisper of vulnerability shadowing him was missing. The stories were *shrug* whatever and simply missed the mark and didn’t contain the humour and fun we’ve come to expect from CC. I may purchase the omnibus when it comes out to see if there’s more of a cohesiveness to the collection but for now, I think I’ll save my $3 and buy a coffee!

Oh and SPOILER ALERT! LOOK AWAY NOW IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED IN PERU!!!
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
tumblr_lzz0rdtt8l1qmb7u4o7_r1_250

SWEET FUCK ALL! Wow thanks for that!

Rating: ★★

Danielle

4 Responses to “Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan”

  1. tonyalee

    We discussed this already but I think your… dislike more or less made my decision not to read this. I am just TIRED of this world!

    I like the gif from clueless LOL

    • Danielle

      Yeah I’m like whatever. Apparently there’s one with Alec which is the only one ill read but I have no interest in ever going to Peru!

  2. Shannon

    Hmmm…. interesting. I guess I won’t be ponying up the $2.99 (x 10) bucks to read these short stories. I know I said this before, but I HATED in City of Lost Souls how Jace said something about what happened in Peru. It’s like… insert shameless BC stories … HERE. Ugh. Well, thank you for your honest review! Saving people $$ & time! The only way I’ll read these is if I get them with gift cards or something.

  3. Marina

    Meh. this sums it up pretty well. As a library book, I’d read it, but not if I have to pay. If, you know, I could go back in time.

Leave a Reply